#MuslimWomensDay

Today is the first official #MuslimWomensDay! Want to examine your privilege and combat Islamophobia? Listen to these voices:

You can see Alaa Murabit’s TED talk here on faith and women in Islam.

Follow Linda Sarsour, one of the organizers of the 2017 Women’s March on facebook here.

Check out Muslim Girl for powerful, feminist writing by Muslim women.

Read about how Zainab Bhindarwala reconciles her faith and her feminism here.

I was raised in a very conservative Christian household, and when I worked for a group of IT folks when I was about 21, I found myself immersed in a group of (mostly) faithful Muslims, the first practitioners of Islam I think I had met. I was expecting to find the men, well, to be honest, barbaric. Oppressive. Dismissive of me as a woman. I was surprised to find women working there at all, both wearing the hijab and not.

This was the first experience I had where I really saw the stereotype of a culture and religion laid to waste by the reality of the kindness (and grumpiness, and faithfulness, and cheating-at-the-rules-ness) and normalcy of the people I met. It threw the barbarism and the disrespect for women that I was raised with in my religion into clear view. I am grateful to those men and women who took my 21-year-old naivety and stereotyping and awkwardness in stride and taught me about faith and inclusivity in a way I had not yet learned.

Happy Muslim Women’s Day.

Leave a Reply

